Welcome to the 2GNT Forum! Interested In Advertising with 2GNT?
Home | Site Background| Info&Specs| Mods & Tech Info | CAPS | Part Reviews | Donate | 2GNT Stickers |
Search Printer-friendly copy 0 Users in Chat
Top 2GNT Technical Handling/Suspension topic #31106
View in linear mode

Subject: "96 cobra wheels w/ 275's on the Talon" Previous topic | Next topic
bahhahaFeb-20-08 05:01 AM
Member since Jan 20th 2006
58 posts,
Click to send email to this author Click to send private message to this author Click to view this author's profile Click to add this author to your buddy list
#31106, "96 cobra wheels w/ 275's on the Talon"
Feb-20-08 11:23 AM by bahhaha

I've been running autocross now for a couple years and at the end of last year I decided to take my car to the local drag strip. My best time was 13.8, but my 60' was like almost 3 seconds. Obviously I'm not very good at the launch yet, but I think a lot of it was my tires (Nitto NT-01's). So a buddy of mine has a 96 cobra and he uses 275/40/17 Nitto drag radials and his 60' times are like 1.8. Turns out that his wheels have the same bolt pattern. So I borrowed them bolted them on and they fit great. So if you guys want a big ass tire for drag racing, see if you can find some old cobra stock rims, they're 17x8, and you can put a 275/40/17 Nitto on them. I'll post some pics soon.

Also, a few notes:
1. I have Tein type flex suspension, but it's lower than stock, so they should also fit a stock suspension.
2. I had to use a 17" wheel because I have a big brake kit.
3. The center hole on the cobra wheel is a little bigger, but the taper in the lugs still centers the rim.
4. I've heard that the Nitto's run small, so that may be why they will fit on an 8" rim. The MFR recommends a 9.

Like my mud flapps?

About 1/2" gap, time to raise the front end

Center hole is slightly larger

Report This Post to Admin Printer-friendly copy | Reply | Reply with quote | Top

Replies to this topic