Welcome to the 2GNT Forum! Interested In Advertising with 2GNT?
Home | Site Background| Info&Specs| Mods & Tech Info | CAPS | Part Reviews | Donate | 2GNT Stickers |
Search Printer-friendly copy 1 User in Chat
Top 2GNT Technical Handling/Suspension topic #441
View in threaded mode

Subject: "Wheel Hop Propblem" Previous topic | Next topic
wolf221Jan-19-01 06:00 AM
Old School 2GNTer
21 posts,
Click to send email to this author Click to send private message to this author Click to view this author's profile Click to add this author to your buddy list
#441, "Wheel Hop Propblem"

I am new to the 2gnt forum. So far I got alot of really good mods and suggestions from everyone on the site.

When ever I pull hard from the line or when it is slick outside I hop the wheels. It has gotten so bad that I busted a hanger on my muffler. Now when I hop the tires I get a big bang in the back from the muffler hitting my pannel. Is there an easy fix for this or do I have to beef up my suspention?

99 Eclipse GS
rsadelski@home.com

Report This Post to Admin Printer-friendly copy | Reply | Reply with quote | Top

Replies to this topic
TeamMichael_97RSJan-19-01 11:02 AM
Donating 2GNT member
5866 posts,
Click to send email to this author Click to send private message to this author Click to view this author's profile Click to add this author to your buddy list
#442, "RE: Wheel Hop Propblem"
In response to Reply # 0

First fix the muffler hanger.

Then you have a few options.

- AF/X Solid front motor mount, very good at reducing wheel hop but you get a lot of vibration in your interior especially over 5k.
- Prothane Motor mounts it's a hard urathane insert ffor front and back and a replacement bushing for the two sides. Also suppose to vibrate pretty bad but not as bad as the solid mount.
- Energy Suspension a slightly softer urathane than the prothane mount and it only has two inserts for the front and rear.