Welcome to the 2GNT Forum! Interested In Advertising with 2GNT?
Home | Site Background| Info&Specs| Mods & Tech Info | CAPS | Part Reviews | Donate | 2GNT Stickers |
Search Printer-friendly copy 0 Users in Chat
Top 2GNT Technical Performance/Engine Auto Trans- A604 topic #832
View in linear mode

Subject: "HIGH RPMs.." Previous topic | Next topic
ttieucaMay-12-03 12:03 PM
Member since May 12th 2003
29 posts,
Click to send email to this author Click to send private message to this author Click to view this author's profile Click to add this author to your buddy list
#832, "HIGH RPMs.."

Hey everyone! I'm a newbie. From all the posts that I have seen, everyone seem to be very friendly and educated about ECLIPSE and CHRYSLER engine ?!?! Well, I have a problem that's been killing me for almost a year. I really hope someone out there can help me out. Okay. I run a 1998 Automatic Eclipse GS. I bought it last year, July 2002. It has a Chrysler engine. In the beginning, the car kind of struggled on the highway. 100 is the highest it would reach. It would go no further. I mean when it getz to 80 or 90 the car startz to shake really bad. Then I kept pushing it. Finally it reaches 120. From there, I could get to 80 or 90 on the highway easily. The RPM would probably be 3 or 3.5 at the most. But in the past six months, going at 70mph, the RPM goes up to 4 now. It definitely hurt me a lot when it comes to GAS $$$$. I have changed the SHIFT knob, meaning, I did cut the OVERDRIVE wires. But when I first cut the over drive wires, it was still running smoothly.

I changed the transmission fluid at home by myself. About a few weeks after that, that's when the high RPM started kicking in. But I have had people checked for me, nothing is leaking or anything.
I got the fuel injection service.
I got the timing belt changed.
My car's spark plug did burn once on the highway.