Go back to previous topic
Forum nameHandling/Suspension
Topic subjectjust got some hubcentric rings (READ!!!).. especially those who don't have them
Topic URLhttp://forums.2gnt.com/dcboard.php?az=show_topic&forum=6&topic_id=23485
23485, just got some hubcentric rings (READ!!!).. especially those who don't have them
Posted by 95_ESi_Person, Dec-31-69 06:00 PM
I've posted about this before... about 2 years ago I bought my wheels and tires (Enkei 5+ and Phantom HRX 225/45/17's) at discount tire...

Our cars obviously have hubcentric wheels (or require them) well those 5+'s along with most every other aftermarket wheel are NOT hubcentric....

I've been driving around for about 2 years without those rings and have had some vibrations with speed (correctly balanced wheels, except one which needs attention this week)... Since I was at Discount tire this weekend for some tires for my dads car I decided to bring in my reciept for my wheels.... They gave my the rings at no cost because I was supposed to get them in the first place...

These rings are made by Gorilla... they are some type of plastic (and before you are like "plastic?! that won't hold" let me explain)... These rings, yes, they are plastic, but they seem to be a Thermo-setting type plastic (for those people who don't understand most materials terminology, thermo-setting plastics are non-recyclable, and cannot be melted down)... and as a lot of thermo-setts go (very dense and hard), these seem to be harder than 6061-T6 Aluminum... meaning that they will be able to support the weight of the car without deformation...