Go back to previous topic
Forum nameHandling/Suspension
Topic subject3000gt rotors and calipers mod
Topic URLhttp://forums.2gnt.com/dcboard.php?az=show_topic&forum=6&topic_id=13504
13504, 3000gt rotors and calipers mod
Posted by gssplaya, Dec-31-69 06:00 PM
Im so sorry guys..
i know this may have been discussed earlier (i did read the early posts and also the vfaq website regarding this) but since im a newbie is just want to clarify a few things..

ok, why is everyone so scared with this mod? what makes it so hard to do? i remember seeing that the 3000gt hubs need not be used since the rotors of the 3000gt can be separated from the hubs, therefore cant we just slap these rotors onto the hubs of the eclipse (of course after removing the dust shield or cutting it) since the 3000gt rotors have a pcd of 114.3 same as the eclipse hubs?

as for the calipers, its just a matter of brackets and using the 3000gt brake lines. right?

Im just wondering about all the machine shop stuff such as removing the splines, etc when we wont even be using the 3000gt hub in the first place :)

ok board veterans, masters and gurus, explain to me why this cant be done, in laymans terms. and please be forgiving :) and if you know anyone who was crazy enough to do this mod pls introduce me since i wanna learn do it too :)
13505, RE: 3000gt rotors and calipers mod
Posted by Squid, Dec-31-69 06:00 PM
I'm assuming you're talking about VR-4 calipers and rotors.

The non-turbo 3000GT calipers will bolt up. They are identical to GSX calipers except they use a different brake line fitting (I’ve also heard the piston diameter is 1mm bigger), but I believe people have gotten the proper brake line from RRE. And the rotors are the same as GSX.

I have thought of the VR-4 caliper upgrade plenty of times and to the best of my knowledge you are correct that all you would need is the right brake lines and custom-mounting brackets.