Go back to previous topic
Forum nameEngine Management Systems & Controllers
Topic subjectMSnS reliablity questions/ set up questions.
Topic URLhttp://forums.2gnt.com/dcboard.php?az=show_topic&forum=54&topic_id=3111
3111, MSnS reliablity questions/ set up questions.
Posted by tbone, Dec-31-69 06:00 PM
I have been reading about this until my eyes have bled. Im still learning so please bare with me.

I am going to be putting my new engine in my car soon and I am concidering a MSnS for it. Its a built motor with turbo. To get the full potential out of my motor, I realize I would need to have a stand alone system. I have two major concerns. One being that I know almost nothing about tuning a car. I have talked to a shop that is very knowlagable with the megasquirt system and they are willing to work with me. My other concern is reliablity. Once tuned what should I expect? What is my reliablity going to be with a MSnS? I dont want to have to drive around with a laptop constantly messing with parameters.

I use this car daily and I need to have it reliable. What can you guys recomend for my set up. What would you think is the best MSnS for my application? What board/ software/ect?

Initally I plan on running about 18-20 psi, so I need to know what supporting mods I would need aswell. I plan on tunning both fuel and spark on the MSnS.

As for my motor.
8.8:1 JE forged w/.020"
Eagle rods
+1MM valves
Mild port on the head
60 trim turbo

I am still running stock cams and no cam gears (for now) I am running out of money. I need to sure up a fuel system, my head gasket is junk (oil in coolant) and I need to swap motors soon. I would rather get the turbo in and as opposed to running the built block and installing the turbo later.

3112, RE: MSnS reliablity questions/ set up questions.
Posted by Star Turbo Talon, Dec-31-69 06:00 PM
The MS has never left me stranded.