Go back to previous topic
Forum nameAudio, Alarms, AV
Topic subjectRemote starter for MT
Topic URLhttp://forums.2gnt.com/dcboard.php?az=show_topic&forum=10&topic_id=4714
4714, Remote starter for MT
Posted by coppereclipse95, Dec-31-69 06:00 PM
Does anyone know anything about remote starter for MT? Does anyone have instructions for them? I also want to know brand names and sites that i could find these information. Hit me back!
4715, RE: Remote starter for MT
Posted by XtremeRS, Dec-31-69 06:00 PM
Although as an installer, i dont recomend haveing a remote starter on a manual trans car, there is a good way, and a bad, unsafe way to do it. I recently did my car, which is a 5 spd. If you must do a remote start on a manual, YOU MUST USE SAFETY SWITCHES OF SOME NATURE SO THE CAR DOES NOT CRANK WHILE IN GEAR!!!!! If you dont use any safety switches, you will regret, cause someday you will leave the car in gear..trust me.. Here is what i did, and works great.

I use a DEI remote starer system. These systems have several wires on them to use for connections to safety switches. To disable the clutch start switch, all you have to do is unplug it. A better way to do it, is to use a relay that interupts that switch when the car remote starts, so as that clutch switch works normally. Follow the clutch switch right at the pedal, and follow the switch wires. You will come to a white plug, one end is male, the other end is female. Just undo this plug, and thats it.

Now for safety switches: