Welcome to the 2GNT Forum! Interested In Advertising with 2GNT?
Home | Site Background| Info&Specs| Mods & Tech Info | CAPS | Part Reviews | Donate | 2GNT Stickers |
Search Printer-friendly copy 0 Users in Chat
Top 4G63 Technical 4G63 Tech topic #11434
View in linear mode

Subject: "Problem with the new GSX, help please." Previous topic | Next topic
FlyinEsiApr-21-09 09:16 AM
Donating 2GNT member
5187 posts,
Click to send email to this author Click to send private message to this author Click to view this author's profile Click to add this author to your buddy list
#11434, "Problem with the new GSX, help please."

Guys, I'm new to the turbo world, and I've got a 370ish HP beast, but it doesn't exactly run perfectly. The guy I bought the car from thinks the problem is a wastegate not fully opening, and I'm thinking it is an A/F ratio problem. Here is what happens.

Diving the car is just fine as long as you don't go over about 40% throttle in any gear. It will climb to 7K just fine, but under WOT at about 3500-4000 RPM this SEVERE hesitation will start happening. The car will jump and sputter all the way to about 5500 RPMs. My friend told me he can tell when the car is doing it from behind too because I huge cloud of smoke comes out. As soon as I get past 5500 RPMs the car will just take off like a rocket.

Additional info: I was watching the SAFC and watching the Kar reading. While driving, if it is not doing its sputtering the Kar will go to about 320 MAX, but when the car is sputtering it will skyrocket to about 1700. After 5500 rpms the Kar stays high but doesn't keep going up so far, it just slowly increaases from 1700 to about 1850 until I let off on the throttle.

Any ideas???

My dad is thinking possibly wastegate, and another friend of mine is thinking it could be an EGR problem, if I have one. Do I have an EGR, and could there be a problem with this?

Thanks guys!

www.geocities.com/rockyourworld182/
1/4 Mile: 17.4651 | 1/4 MPH: 76.69 @ 7,000 ft