Welcome to the 2GNT Forum! Interested In Advertising with 2GNT?
Home | Site Background| Info&Specs| Mods & Tech Info | CAPS | Part Reviews | Donate | 2GNT Stickers |
Search Printer-friendly copy 1 User in Chat
Top 2GNT Technical Handling/Suspension topic #33621
View in linear mode

Subject: "cross threading steering shaft bolt after install" Previous topic | Next topic
papajohnspimpApr-02-12 12:12 AM
Member since Apr 01st 2012
11 posts,
Click to send email to this author Click to send private message to this author Click to view this author's profile Click to add this author to your buddy list
#33621, "cross threading steering shaft bolt after install"

Hi I'm new to the Mitsubishi world, I found a 1995 Mitsubishi Eclipse GS for 400$ with a spun rod bearing last summer and decided to pick it up and put her back on the road. After reading through the "proper rebuild" so many times my eyes would bleed I got the car up and running and have been driving it for about 2 - 3 weeks. There have been a multitude of problems but I have steadily been chipping away at them until the most recent.

I replaced the rack and pinion today and after everything was put back and bolted in, when I put the bolt in the steering shaft knuckle it strips it. I went out to get a couple more bolts just to see if it would keep doing it and it wasn't a fluke. Its destroyed 2 bolts now and I can't take her on a victory test drive (I've been driving without power steering for 2 weeks now without a/c, I live in Oklahoma) this is very upsetting. The knuckle looks like its down all the way there is a little gap in between the rack and the knuckle but I can hardly see any splines at all. The bolt came out with little problem and I don't know what to do... Also the steering wheel is off and didn't know if there is a certain way the two have to meet (some sort of keyway?)

I apologize for the novel and thank anyone for their response

Mark