Welcome to the 2GNT Forum! Interested In Advertising with 2GNT?
Home | Site Background| Info&Specs| Mods & Tech Info | CAPS | Part Reviews | Donate | 2GNT Stickers |
Search Printer-friendly copy 1 User in Chat
Top 2GNT Technical Performance/Engine topic #138185
View in linear mode

Subject: "AFR slowly and gradually decreasing on the freeway?" Previous topic | Next topic
ezNov-10-13 10:32 PM
Old School 2GNTer
3461 posts,
Click to send email to this author Click to send private message to this author Click to view this author's profile Click to add this author to your buddy list
#138185, "AFR slowly and gradually decreasing on the freeway?"

On to the next quirky thing affecting my car.

I've been running an AEM wideband for a few years, and the AFR averages 14.7 with +/- 0.3 cycling.

Past month, as I drive on the freeway the AFR average slowly decreases from 14.7 to 14.3 and sometimes to 14.1 (cycles to 13.9 sometimes). I can see how the car would run rich with a thermostat that failed open (my recent problem), but I just fixed the thermostat issue (Temps are fine now, and ECU was reset) and the AFRs are still trending down.

If I release the throttle on the freeway briefly, and go back to cruising throttle, the AFR will go back to 14.7 and again slowly trend down over 30 seconds, staying low.

Anyone know what could cause this? Is this a possible failure mode with an AEM wideband? I don't have anywhere near to 50k on the wideband yet, maybe less than 15k.

Fuel system is unchanged from previous setup that averaged 14.7 AFRs on cruise (440s, SFMU with idle pressure at 18psi, intank + inline pumps, 10ms injection duty cycle crusing at 65mph with RPMs at 2700.)

TIA!

2gnt: '99 RS-T, killed by a toyota, pending rebuild...
Daily: Volt
Daily #2: '99 EVG ebike- STOLEN by PEDRO

Report This Post to Admin Printer-friendly copy | Reply | Reply with quote | Top

Replies to this topic
RE: AFR slowly and gradually decreasing on the freeway?, ez, Nov-21-13 10:31 PM, #1