Go back to previous topic
Forum nameInterior/Exterior
Topic subjectRE: Broked Turn Signal stays on all the time
Topic URLhttp://forums.2gnt.com/dcboard.php?az=show_topic&forum=7&topic_id=102220&mesg_id=103806
103806, RE: Broked Turn Signal stays on all the time
Posted by Dyer13, Dec-31-69 06:00 PM
I just got this issue two weeks ago and I just got around to fixing it(yea I've been driving without turn signals for two weeks, I pulled the fuse). Being that I am a poor college student, I decided to take everything apart and look at it before buying any new parts.

When I took apart the switch assembly I noticed there were three "random" pieces of plastic jiggling around in the switch. It wasn't hard to figure out where each piece went and I just super glued (Cyanoacrylate - CA)everything back in place. There is a small plastic pin that moves another plastic piece, with metal contacts on top, back and forth when you hit the turn signal, bridging the gaps for each turn signal contacts. I reassembled the switch assembly and it works fine. If the pin ever breaks, I'll probably try the screw method as mentioned earlier. It is not worth $50+ to replace a broken pin the size of the lead/graphite tip of a pencil.

So anyway, I didn't take pictures while disassembling because I didn't have the foresight to do so, but I have a couple pictures that should be helpful.

Please refer to http://www.2gnt.com/index.php?d=Turn_signal_switch_swap for information on how to get the switch off in the first place.

Obligatory Disclaimer: I am not responsible for any results of your actions. Should you follow the instructions listed below, you do so at your own risk. The instructions and pictures are for informational purposes only.
(please don't sue me if you cut/bruise/maim/or otherwise injure yourself while following said instructions mmmkay?)

Tools Required:
1. Phillips Screw Driver
2. CA Glue
3. 15-20 minutes of time/energy