Go back to previous topic
Forum name4G63 Tech
Topic subjectToo Much Boost?
Topic URLhttp://forums.2gnt.com/dcboard.php?az=show_topic&forum=67&topic_id=9911
9911, Too Much Boost?
Posted by BigBald, Dec-31-69 06:00 PM
How exactly does timing work? I am getting low timing on my top end right now. I tried advance timing and ended up getting crazy knock. I added fuel to eliminate knock and that is not working. I am running 9.9:1 - 10.5:1 a/f ratio according to DSMLink. This means i am already running rich so adding fuel will cause me to lose more power. All this leads me to believe that 18psi is too much for the stock SMIC. If i turn the boost down to say 15psi will this help with my timing and fuel at all? Please point me in the right direction. I am a tuning noob. My understanding is i want to get timing in the late teens - early 20s w/ no knock.

My best time so far is 14.3 @ 94mph w/ 1.9 60'

www.illeagle-tsi.net/specs/

Obviviously something is going on here...please help.
9912, RE: Too Much Boost?
Posted by Vandy420a, Dec-31-69 06:00 PM
yes, 18psi is at the limits of the SMIC--you're really not supposed to run any more than 15-16psi on a big 16g with a side mount...
9913, RE: Too Much Boost?
Not the answer i wanted but figured that was the case. Will i see better timing and a/f with less boost? I am pretty sure it will get rid of the knock.

Is 16psi ok or should i not chance it and stick with 15psi till i get a FMIC?
9914, RE: Too Much Boost?
Posted by chrysler kid, Dec-31-69 06:00 PM
15psi is still heat soaking the sidemount after about 5 minutes of hard driving
9915, RE: Too Much Boost?
Originally posted by chrysler kid
15psi is still heat soaking the sidemount after about 5 minutes of hard driving

I don't think it will take me that long to get down the track. I will let you know after Saturday. I am going to a test and tune at the local trackt o see whats up @ 15psi.

9916, RE: Too Much Boost?
Posted by DSMTunerS95, Dec-31-69 06:00 PM